ISSF Star Students 2024

Each year the Independent Schools of South Florida (ISSF) allows schools to designate three students as STARS. STAR students have shown outstanding ability and achievement in academics, sports, community service, the arts, and/or effort. This year’s STAR students are Miah Bonachea, Mia Honig, and Zachary Mielgo.

Mia Honig was selected for being an outstanding example of individuality and dedication to the arts. Mia has been consistent in her dedication, commitment, and growth within the visual arts department. She has a unique vision, which she brings to life through each piece she creates. She is thoroughly detailed in her work and takes the time to think, plan, and execute with the utmost respect for the work and attention to detail. Mia stands out among her peers for her artistry, dedication, and vision.

Zachary Mielgo was selected for being an outstanding example of character, leadership, scholarship, and dedication to sports. Zachary Mielgo is a quiet leader, who exemplifies the virtues of discipline, character, loyalty, reliability, and hard work. He is consistent in everything he does, loyal, honest, responsible, and is an example to his peers. Zachary is meticulous in his work, both in the classroom and on the field or court. He values and respects his teachers and classmates. He is passionate and committed to the CEA athletic program, displays excellent sportsmanship, a good attitude, is a distinguished student, and an example to his peers.

Miah Bonachea was selected for being an outstanding example of character, scholarship, and determination. Miah is responsible, trustworthy, and reliable. She is an excellent example of integrity. Miah thinks things through before acting, and consistently chooses to do the right thing, even when it is difficult or unpopular. Miah is resilient and determined to achieve her goals, no matter the obstacles. She is reliable, fair, true to her word, loyal to her values, hard-working in everything she does, and is an outstanding example of discipline and academic scholarship.

Congratulations! We are very proud of you!